no planes=no art

29 Oct

I have settled back in to life at McMurdo Station, Antarctica. This is the only place I live and work where weather, and whether a plane can fly, intimately affects my life. Months before I arrived, I ordered a plentiful supply of paper, bookboard, glue, thread, and tools to get me through my five months here. Unfortunately, all of those lovely art supplies are sitting in a warehouse in Christchurch, New Zealand, waiting for a time when the weather clears for long enough for our low priority package mail to make it on a flight. Crossing my fingers for clear skies……

In the meantime, I am making the rounds through the buildings around “town,” scavenging materials that may have potential. Slim pickins so far, but this place always comes through.

Leave a Reply

